A sofa is one of the largest furniture pieces in most homes and often comes with the highest price tag. Like many, I have spent hours searching for the perfect sofa. Finding just the right piece was important for my decor and my wallet. I hesitate to spend $1,000 or more on something that isn’t just right. As a family that moves every few years, I wanted a sofa that would work in small rooms or large rooms. Burrow is a top brand with many devoted fans, and I wanted to see if the Nomad sofa would work for my nomadic family. When the Nomad sofa landed on my doorstep in four large boxes, I was skeptical. While separating the sofa’s components into four boxes made it easy to get into my home, I had a hard time picturing how everything would go together to make the mid-century modern piece I had designed on Burrow’s website. I only had to enlist help to move one of the boxes. If you don’t need to navigate stairs, you should be able to move all of the boxes on your own. I generally dread putting together furniture and set aside hours to get through complicated instructions and tiny pieces. The Burrow Nomad was easy to assemble using the provided picture how-to guide. The legs screw on without additional hardware. As someone who has lost furniture hardware while moving, this is a fantastic feature. It is reassuring that I will not need to scour aisles of my local hardware store looking for spare parts because the Nomad doesn’t need them. Burrow is known for its modular design, and the Nomad sofa is one of their most popular pieces of furniture. The seats connect using a latch mechanism on the bottom. Then I added the arms, backs, and legs, and voila! The sofa was complete. I didn’t need any tools.  I chose the navy blue fabric and walnut legs when making my selections on Burrow’s website. The color was rich and uniform, while the tapered leg really gave my home office a sophisticated look. The sofa comes in five colors and six different leg styles and materials. I would have liked a few more fabric options, such as velvet or performance fabric. If you aren’t sure, you can always order a swatch from Burrow before purchasing. The wooden legs are eco-friendly by being sustainably sourced, a choice that I always appreciate from retailers. I liked the elegant style of the sloped arms and the tufted back cushions. The cushions are reversible, providing another way to customize your Nomad’s look. Burrow also offers three different arms styles. The design leans toward sleek mid-century modern, so this is not the best sofa if you want something plusher. This styling makes the look more timeless, something that I strive for in my decor. If you really want to go all out, you can purchase additional lumbar pillows made of the same fabric. I prefer some contrast with throw pillows, but it was nice to know I had that option. As a military family member, I am always considering how versatile a piece of furniture will be in another home. I never know if we will have a large family room or just a small space, so I tend to avoid bulky or oddly shaped furniture. I assembled the Nomad using all three seats, but I could easily shorten it to a loveseat configuration if needed. I used this sofa in my home office, a space that often does double duty as a kids’ playroom. The sofa would have fit across my office’s small wall as a loveseat, an option that I love to have for the future. I was looking forward to getting the Nomad sofa because of the style and design, but I was surprised to find that the most appreciated feature was the built-in charger. A charger seemed a bit impractical when I first saw it on Burrow’s website, but it quickly became my favorite thing about the sofa. I pointed it out to everyone who sat on the Nomad. The charger is a 72-inch USB cord, making it compatible with most devices. As someone who often forgets to plug in my phone, having one more place to keep it charged without tripping over cords was great. The sofa is well-made, and I think that it will hold up well for years. It is not the cheapest option on the market, but I’m glad that I won’t need to replace it every few years. For this price, I would consider a sectional for our main family room, given that I have a large family and need a lot of seats. Burrow has upgrades if you decide that you need additional seating but don’t want to buy an entirely new sofa. This adjustable, modular piece works great in a playroom, home office, or secondary space.

How long will it take to assemble?

I had the sofa put together in around 15 minutes once all of the pieces were out of the boxes. The biggest factor in the quick assembly was how easy the instructions were to follow. Every assembly step is illustrated, something that even I could follow. The lack of required hardware or special tools was another feature that I really appreciated.

How easy is it to clean?

Everyday crumbs brushed off of the fabric easily, and small spills wiped up quickly. Liquid beaded up on the fabric in small quantities, but I didn’t have any major spills of liquids or foods that could stain. Spilled water did not leave a ring or stain. If you need to clean the sofa, Burrow recommends testing a small portion of the fabric with your cleaner first. A cleaner specifically made for fabric worked just fine for me. Burrow advertises that the fabric is scratch and stain-resistant. With three small children, ages 1 to 4, and one feisty cat, my family tested out the scratch-resistance daily with everything from kids’ safety scissors to pet’s nails. After three weeks, the fabric looked just as great as the day it came out of the box.

How many configurations can you make with the sofa?

I loved that the mechanical connections within the sofa pieces were all the same. I used all three seat pieces to assemble the sofa in its full length. But if you wanted to use the piece in a smaller space, such as a bedroom, you could omit one of the seats for a loveseat configuration. Burrow also offers upgrades or add-ons, such as a moveable chaise, ottoman, sleep kit, and lumbar pillows. The chaise can be used on either side or the middle, which is another great customization.

Why do I need to plug the sofa in?

The Burrow Nomad does not need to be plugged in, but if you want to use the built-in phone charger, you will need to set up near an outlet. The power cord trails down from one of the legs inconspicuously. Once you plug it in, you will be able to use the charging cord tucked along the side of the seats. I can’t say enough how great the included charger was in the Nomad’s design. I liked that I could charge my device and tuck it behind the cushion when my kids started getting too much screen time. This is truly a sofa made for today’s technological world with an elegant, timeless design.

How many people can fit on the sofa?

I sat on the sofa with my whole family, two adults, and three small children. Three adults could sit side-by-side comfortably. The sofa was long enough for my 6’3” husband to stretch out and take a nap without falling off or scrunching up, a feature that earned the sofa two thumbs up from him.

Burrow Nomad Sofa vs. West Elm Drake Sofa vs. IKEA FROSLOV Sofa

The best-known mid-century modern furniture comes from West Elm. I previously had the West Elm Drake sofa in my home office, which looked great, comfortable, and fit just right. Depending on your fabric choice, it can be cheaper (around $1,099) or a lot more expensive (around $1,899). There are more fabric choices, but it doesn’t have modular customization or included charging station. West Elm may be a more recognizable company, but Burrow is a nice alternative option with a few different features. For a budget-conscious option, consider the IKEA FROSLOV sofa, available in two colors for $799. The materials and fabric aren’t as durable, and there will be assembly required, but it is still a basic, stylish piece that will serve your needs. If you are looking for a sofa that is functional, customizable, and easy to put together, the Burrow Nomad is the answer. It is an expensive piece but I know that my family will be able to get plenty of use, even if we move to a new home.