You’ve found the perfect duvet, but the duvet cover could be the final touch that takes the bed from cozy to irresistible. The Company Store’s Company Cotton Bamboo Sateen Duvet Cover falls into the luxury category, protecting duvets while adding another layer of comfort to your bed. Duvet covers offer an easier way to keep the bed clean because you can wash the cover rather than the duvet. The fabric and weave affect the duvet cover’s warmth, texture, and durability. I put this bamboo duvet cover to the test to see if the soft, silky texture held up with regular use and washing. From the moment I took this duvet cover out of the box, it felt like luxury. More accurately, it felt almost like silk, heavy silk with gorgeous drape. It’s a 100 percent bamboo cover. It’s actually made of 70 percent bamboo rayon and 30 percent combed cotton. Bamboo is often advertised as an eco-friendly, sustainable fabric, which is true to a point. Bamboo, a grass not wood, grows quickly, so it’s easy to replace once it’s harvested. On the downside, it goes through quite the manufacturing process to become fabric, losing some of the eco-friendly factors due to the chemicals and amount of water it takes. However, the result is a bamboo fabric that feels similar to silk but breathes like cotton.  That’s in part because this cover does contain cotton. Combed cotton goes through a process to remove the shortest cotton fibers, leaving behind the longest, softest fibers. The cotton content added the right blend of breathability and texture to the duvet cover. The cotton adds weight and drape, so the cover has substance to it without being heavy. The sateen weave also adds weight (but not heft) to the cover. In comparison to percale, sateen has a tighter weave that gives the fabric luster or sheen and more weight, though I wouldn’t call this cover heavy.  I have a cotton percale duvet cover as well. The Company Cotton’s subtle sheen definitely looks more formal and sophisticated in comparison. It’s almost too sophisticated for my rather casual bedroom decor, but that’s okay because I’m all about glamming it up.  And the feel—oh the feel. I’m a huge fan of bamboo’s silky drape that’s luxuriously soft. I recently got my hands on a set of bamboo sheets, which I loved, but my husband didn’t because they were too silky. I would say that the added cotton in this cover overcomes the almost slippery texture of 100 percent bamboo.  While I enjoyed the silkiness on my skin, I didn’t enjoy the part where the cover got twisted during the night. The duvet slides around more in this bamboo cover than it does in my cotton duvet cover. It was also more obvious when the cover got twisted because of a one-inch decorative edge seam that would end up in the middle of the bed. It’s not a deal-breaker but a little annoying to readjust the duvet cover every morning.  The other issue I had with this cover was the corner ties. The ties themselves were a good length and didn’t get misshapen in the wash. However, they’re made of the same silky bamboo fabric as the rest of the cover. Consequently, they easily came undone, but only at the top of the duvet cover where you tug on it during the night. By the end of the week, the top of the cover looked like an empty bag. Periodically, I would need to claw my way up to the inside corners and retie them. It was annoying, but again, not a deal-breaker. Overall, my love of the silky, drapey fabric overpowered my annoyance at a cover that shifts and occasionally unties while I slept. 

Did the duvet cover pill after washing? 

The Company Store’s Company Cotton Bamboo Sateen Duvet Covers requires cold water on a gentle cycle and low heat to dry. I didn’t love the fact that the cover can only be washed in cold water. In general, I like to wash my bedding on the highest setting the fabric can handle to clean and sanitize. However, I followed the directions to protect the fabric.  The cover washed beautifully. The fabric felt slightly softer after the first washing. There wasn’t any pilling, but it does lose some of the initial luster after a wash or two. However, I don’t think you’d notice if you weren’t scrutinizing it like I was.  Also, the cover came out fairly unwrinkled. I compared it to my 100 percent cotton duvet cover, which came out looking like it had been attacked by a pack of wolves. Trust me. This was better. The bamboo had a few wrinkles but not enough that I felt compelled to iron it.  However, for the sake of fully testing the cover, I ironed it. The directions said to use “low iron as needed.” I’m not sure how low they meant, but it must be a temperature my iron cannot reach. I touched the cover in one corner with my iron on low, and it left shiny marks. I turned off the iron and steamed the cover instead. The wrinkles fell right out, but I wouldn’t use an iron on this cover, even on low.  

How many color choices are there? 

This cover comes in seven colors, including common bedroom standards like ivory, gray, green, and blue. I chose misty blue and loved it. It went well with the other neutrals in my bedroom. All of the colors fall on the subdued side of each hue, blending in rather than making a bold statement. 

Is the Company Cotton Bamboo Sateen Duvet Cover worth the price? 

Despite my issues with the corner ties and some slippage, I loved this cover. It falls at the higher end of the price range (it retails at around $149), but it’s worth it if you love the feel of silk but don’t want the snag factor and other issues that come with silk. The sheen and quality also look high-end, giving the bed a little extra luxury. 

The Company Store Company Cotton Bamboo Sateen Duvet Cover vs. Parachute Sateen Duvet Cover 

Made in the same weave but different fabrics, these two duvet covers offer comparable quality and price. The Parachute Sateen Duvet Cover has more sheen than the Company Cotton and far fewer color options. However, it does have the benefits of 100 percent long-staple Egyptian cotton that’s OEKO-TEX certified. That certification means that any fibers and fabrics in the cover are free from harmful chemicals. Long-staple cotton is incredibly soft, breathable, and durable. If you’re concerned about chemical exposure, the Parachute offers peace of mind. However, if you’re not a fan of high sheen sateen, you might want to go with the bamboo Company Cotton. It also resists wrinkles better.  Between these two, it comes down to personal preference. Are you more worried about wrinkles than chemicals? (I’m not saying that the Company Cotton cover is full of chemicals. It just doesn’t have any third-party certifications indicating that it’s been tested and found free like the Parachute duvet cover.) If you want the softness without the wrinkles, I’d opt for the Company Cotton duvet cover.  I would buy The Company Store’s Company Cotton Bamboo Sateen Duvet Cover if I loved the smoothness of silk but didn’t want to deal with the care silk requires. I would also choose this cover over 100 percent sateen cotton for the added wrinkle resistance. It doesn’t hurt that it looks great and feels amazing, too.