The Environmental Protection Agency says that the air inside your house might be five times more polluted than the air outside. Pollen, cooking fumes, fumes from cleaning products, pet dander, and mold spores can accumulate in your home over the course of day-to-day living. There are plenty of air filters, fans, and humidifiers on the market that claim to take care of all of these things, but the Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool combines all those devices into one of the smartest and practical purchases. I’ve never tried a Dyson product before, so when I got the opportunity to test the Pure Humidify + Cool, I was excited and a bit skeptical. Could one machine really do all of that? And if so, could it do it well? Read on to find out. As soon as I opened the Dyson package and took the Pure Humidify + Cool out of the box, I was impressed. Although it was pretty large and heavy, it had a sleek, streamlined design that fits nicely in the corner of my room. I chose the black and nickel color option, and it blended in nicely without looking too cumbersome. Dyson also offers a white and silver color scheme if you have a lighter aesthetic. It was also effortless to set up. The directions were straightforward and clear. I popped in the filters, filled the water basin with clean water (one fill will last for 36 hours), and pressed the power button. The machine looks more complicated than it is. It was simple to get started.  I had a slight problem with connecting the machine to WiFi through the Dyson Link app. I tried to connect it to my 2G network several times, and it kept giving me an error message that the network wasn’t working or that my password was wrong. It was able to connect to my 5G network on the first try, though. I’m not sure if this was an isolated problem or if it only works with 5G networks. I couldn’t find a clear cut answer in any of the manuals. I played around with all of the features to see what the Pure Humidify + Cool could really do. There are only two buttons on the machine. One of them is the power button, and the other is a button that controls the deep clean cycle. You need the included remote or the free Dyson Link app to control all of the machine’s advanced features. I decided to take Dyson’s advice and kept the machine on auto most of the time. One thing that stood out to me right away was that this machine was practically silent, unlike other humidifiers that I’ve used. If the LCD screen wasn’t lit, I probably wouldn’t have even realized it was on. The only time it got noisy was when I turned the airflow on the highest settings, but even then, it wasn’t obnoxiously loud. It made a pleasant, smooth fan noise that I enjoyed as white noise while sleeping. Aside from cooling the room down a little bit, I didn’t notice any immediate effects from the Pure Humidify + Cool. But after using it consistently for a week, I noticed that my bedroom air was different. There wasn’t any stickiness or dryness, and it made me feel considerably more comfortable while I slept. I really liked that the Pure Humidify + Cool can automatically assess the air and turn off the humidifying function if necessary. I’ve had other humidifiers that continuously run, and you go from having a really dry room to one that feels damp and sticky. That was not the case with this machine. I was especially impressed with its performance in the bathroom. I have one bathroom in my house that had a constantly musty smell. No matter what I did, I couldn’t get rid of it. I left the windows open. I ran the fan every time I showered for at least 30 minutes after, but it wouldn’t go away. I started running the Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool after each of my showers, and things changed. I chose the auto settings and let the machine do its thing. The Dyson started circulating the air, and, almost immediately, I noticed that the room felt considerably less sticky and heavy. After a few days of consistent use, the bathroom’s musty smell was gone, and it hasn’t come back since.  If you turn on night mode, it can reduce the noise and dim the LCD screen light during your sleeping hours. A sleep timer can also shut the machine off after a certain amount of time. You can also control all of these functions in the app and set a weekly schedule for your Pure Humidify + Cool so you don’t have to turn it on and off manually. There’s an option for auto mode or manual control. Dyson recommends leaving the auto mode on since the machine can read the room’s status and automatically turn on or off the purify or humidifying functions depending on the air quality and moisture levels. You can also control the airflow speed, the direction of airflow, and oscillation.  While the machine gets rave reviews from me as far as performance goes, my favorite thing about the Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool is that it displays real-time air quality on the LCD and in the app. You can see how your indoor air rates on the air quality scale—good, fair, poor, very poor, and extremely poor—and how that compares to your local outdoor air quality. There’s also a breakdown of the different types of pollutants, like smoke, bacteria, mold, and pollen and what levels of these pollutants you have in your air at any given time. I thought it was really cool to see this information in real-time, and, for the most part, my indoor air quality was always ranked as good, which gave me a lot of peace of mind.

Can you use the functions independently?

The Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool will always purify your air, but you can turn the humidifying function off if you don’t need it. During the cooler months, you can use the backward airflow mode, which sucks air into the machine’s front and then out the back, so it doesn’t work as a fan to cool you down.

How often do you need to change the filter?

The frequency of filter changes depends on your air quality and how often you run the Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool. Both the LCD screen and the Dyson Link app monitor your filter’s life as you go. When it’s time to change your filter, you’ll get an alert from the machine. If you have push notifications on, you will get a notification from the app.

How do you clean the Pure Humidify + Cool?

Aside from wiping off some dust from the outside of the machine, the Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool doesn’t require manual cleaning. There’s a deep clean cycle that you can activate directly on the machine or through the Dyson Link app. When you turn the machine on for the first time, the app indicates it is 675 hours until your machine needs a deep cleaning. The frequency can vary based on your water hardness. The machine and the app both alert you when it’s time to run a deep cleaning cycle. To start the deep cleaning cycle, you add a cleaning solution and water to the water basin and press the machine’s deep cleaning cycle button. The machine does the rest. 

How does the Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool purify the air?

The machine uses a fully sealed filtration system that combines activated carbon and Glass HEPA filters to capture allergens and pollutants, gases, and odors. The water in the water basin is exposed to a UV light that kills bacteria before that water is evaporated and circulated into your home.

How big of a room does the Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool cover?

Dyson doesn’t specify the coverage range for this machine but says its tests were done in a 2,860-square-foot chamber for purification and a 1,447-square-foot chamber for humidification. 

Is the Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool worth the money?

I was always skeptical of Dyson products’ high price tag because I didn’t think they could be that much better than other, similar machines. But after using the Pure Humidify + Cool, I have a different outlook. It does the job of an air purifier, a humidifier, and a fan and it’s much more sophisticated than any others I’ve used. When you consider that it’s really three machines in one—and that those machines are practically able to run independently—I think it’s worth the money.

Competition: Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool vs Levoit Smart HEPA Air Purifier

Since it’s such a comprehensive machine, it’s tough to put the Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool up against some of the other options out there, but if air purifying is your main goal, the Levoit Smart HEPA Air Purifier is a good choice too.  With a pre-filter, a true HEPA filter, and activated carbon, the Levoit uses a three-step process to ensure that pollutants are removed from your home. Like the Dyson, you can control this air purifier through a free app that allows you to adjust fan speed, monitor your indoor air quality, and create custom schedules. According to Dyson, their machine uses a fully sealed filtration system that combines activated carbon and glass HEPA filters to capture allergens and pollutants, gases, and odors. The water in the water basin is exposed to a UV light that kills bacteria before that water is evaporated and circulated into your rooms. At $180, the Levoit purifier is considerably less expensive than the Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool, which goes for $799.99, but you don’t get the humidifying or cooling functions. The Dyson is a cut above the rest with the ability to purify, humidify, and cool all wrapped up in one package. If you want cleaner air and a more comfortable home environment, this is the only machine you need.