Cotton, Tencel, bamboo, eucalyptus—who knew you could sleep with so many plants? In their raw form, none are luxurious. But once they’ve gone through the manufacturing process, pick the right one for you physically and ethically. The Ettitude Bamboo Lyocell Sheet Set is sustainable, 100 percent organic bamboo. I tested this eco-friendly fabric, wondering if it feels as comfortable as traditional cotton sheets. From the moment I opened the package, I knew these sheets differed from any I’d slept on before. Bamboo as a plant is not new to me. I’ve trudged my way through a bamboo overgrowth in a friend’s yard but never snuggled down in it for a good night’s rest. The first time I felt these sheets, all I could think was, “Where have you been all my life? Get on my bed!” It wasn’t like opening a new set of cotton sheets where the crispness was the first thing you noticed. The Ettitude sheets were soft and silky to the touch, even before I’d taken them out of the eco-friendly storage bag.  The sheet’s drape felt so good in my hands. The Ettitude sheets are a sateen weave, giving them a heavier feel that adds to their draping quality and smoothness as they flow over the body. The sheets have a rich, buttery softness. If sheets were as delicious as they felt, I would eat these. The fabric draped and slid over my hand and fingers. These sheets were some of the softest, most luxurious sheets I’ve ever used. I did a little research into what makes bamboo lyocell eco-friendly. Bamboo is one of the more sustainable plants on the planet. I know my neighbors with bamboo in their yard can vouch for that; they couldn’t get rid of the stuff no matter how hard they tried. It grows and spreads fast, doesn’t need pesticides, and doesn’t use much water. The tricky part is that the process of turning bamboo into a textile isn’t as eco-friendly as the plant itself. It usually required solvents and copious amounts of water. Ettitude addresses that using a closed-loop system saves up to 98 percent of the water used to make the textile. The bamboo used in these sheets is organic as well. So, they’re made in a socially conscious way, but are they great for sleeping? You would think that silky softness is perfect. But, silkiness also means they are slippery and slidey. When I made a bed for the first time, I had a little trouble with the fitted sheet. It has deep pockets that fit mattresses up to 20 inches thick. My mattress is about 11.5 inches tall, leaving extra fabric. I tried tucking in the extra to get a tighter fit, but it just slid back out. The fitted sheet didn’t come off, but it fit loosely on my shortie mattress. The flat sheet may have slid around the bed more than I was used to, but it didn’t come untucked any more often than a regular cotton sheet.  One of bamboo lyocell’s strengths is breathability and its “cool” factor—not Taylor Swift cool–but temperature cool. They feel cool to the touch, and that feeling lasts throughout the night. I tend to sleep warm, so it was a significant plus for me.  As much as I loved the softness, drape, and breathability, they weren’t perfect. Close, but not quite. The deep pockets left the fitted sheet loose on the bed, and although the fitted sheet didn’t fit snuggly, the flat sheet was more of an issue.  The flat sheet draped snuggly on my body. So, when I rolled over in my restless sleep, the sheets wrap around me like an anaconda going in for the kill. I’d wrestle with it when I tried to get up in the middle of the night. Deal breaker—no. Annoying—yes. My husband didn’t have the same problem, so if you usually sleep soundly through the night, you might not care about overly drapey fabric. 

Do the sheets pill after washing? 

Bamboo lyocell takes some special care. It can only be washed in cold water on the gentle cycle and line or tumbled dry. They cleaned up well, though I don’t think I’d use them on a child’s bed, where nighttime accidents are an issue. The manufacturer warns that there could be some pilling if you lauder the sheet set using dryer sheets or fabric softener. I noticed a slight change in texture after two washings, but it wasn’t significant.

Did they come out wrinkled after washing?

The Ettitude sheets didn’t come out of the dryer looking like I’d wadded them into a ball. They weren’t wrinkle-free but pretty close. I have 100 percent cotton sheets that I love, but they come out of the dryer looking like they’ve been attacked by wolves. These sheets can go straight from the dryer to the bed and look good. 

Is this sheet set worth the money? 

If you love silky, smooth sheets and you’re looking for a sustainable, eco-friendly option, then these sheets are worth the money. They are pricey, costing nearly $200 for a queen set. You’re paying for the luxe feel and the organic farming and manufacturing methods that can be more expensive and produce a lower yield. Saving the planet is a costly proposition.

Ettitude Bamboo Lyocell Sheet Set vs. Cariloha Resort Bamboo Sheets

The 300-thread count Cariloha Resort Bamboo Sheets have a soft, sateen weave similar to the Ettitude sheets. They’re cooling like the Ettitude sheets, too. They are eco-friendly (all bamboo sheets are to some extent), but they’re not on the same level as Ettitude. The Cariloha sheets are viscose from bamboo. Viscose requires chemical solvents and high volumes of water, which isn’t as eco-friendly as the lyocell method. The Carioloha sheets are still eco-friendly, but the Ettitude sheets have the advantage of an environmentally sound manufacturing process. Plus, the Ettitude sheets cost less, saving your wallet and the planet. These sheets feel amazing. They’re worth the high price tag if smooth, soft, eco-friendly sheets are a must for you. However, you can probably find bamboo sheets with a similar feel at a lower price. They might not be as eco-friendly as Ettitude.