The perfect towel can turn your bath and shower experience from a boring routine to spa-like luxury. The Everplush Diamond Jacquard Bath Towels are made with unique technology and double-layered construction that piqued my interest. I wanted to see if they were lightweight, absorbent, and plush all in one.  Some people will use any old towel, while others have likes, dislikes, pet-peeves, or sensitive skin that can’t tolerate a tattered, 15-year-old towel. The best towels are often absorbent, soft, and durable enough to remain snag-free. If they can dry quickly, they’re even better. I wanted to see if the Everplush Diamond Jacquard Bath Towels could absorb, dry, and remain soft. When I first opened the package, two things struck me. One, these were some seriously soft towels. The second, they felt really thin. I’m not against thin towels. However, I had my doubts as to how much water they could really handle. I need not have worried.  Everplush holds a patent for using a two-looped terry cloth. The towel maker says its cotton/microfiber blend towel can absorb up to eight times its weight. While I didn’t weigh them, I can say that they’re highly absorbent. Much more absorbent than they feel like they should be. One pass over the body, and the water was gone. I loved the absorbency and have zero complaints about it.  The lightweight Everplush towel is great for wrapping up my hair to dry while I get ready. The Everplush didn’t weigh down my head like other high-absorbency towels. Also, these towels had a slight stretch to them. That stretch helped hold the towel in place when it was wrapped around my head or body.  Despite their high absorbency, the Everplush towels dried quickly. I live in the Pacific Northwest, near the coast, where humidity can cause towels to stay wet for over 24-hours. I loved that the Everplush towels dried well. Towels that don’t dry quickly need to be replaced every couple of days (or more), or they get stinky. These towels did not have that problem. A downside to the towel thinness is it didn’t offer much insulation. There’s something to be said for wrapping up in a thick towel right after a shower; it’s warming. The Everplush didn’t give me the cozy, bear-hug-of-a-towel feeling. That didn’t trouble me personally, but if you want your towel to feel like a plushy blanket, these towels aren’t the right ones for you.   The Everplush towels are slightly larger than the average towel, though they aren’t big enough to qualify as a bath sheet. They measure 56” x 30”, whereas a typical towel usually measures 52” x 27”. Those few extra inches were great when drying off after a shower, though I had to manage them more carefully when wrapping my hair in the towel.  There were two big negatives for me with these towels. They’re supposed to be washed in cold water. Some bacteria and germs could, in theory, survive a cold water wash. The second and bigger negative was that they snagged after the third wash. They didn’t snag a lot, but both towels had one snag each. I had washed them with other towels to be on the safe side. I was disappointed that they didn’t hold out longer.  I washed the Everplush towels in warm water the second time I washed them. It didn’t affect how they felt afterward but could cause the fabric to break down over time. Maybe that’s why they snagged so soon. During testing, they felt and performed the same after a warm water wash. 

Do the towels release a lot of lint and fluff?

Before and during the first washing, yes, there was some shedding. That’s to be expected from a towel right out of the package. However, most of it came off during the first wash. Be sure to clean your lint screen before that first dry cycle; it came out loaded.  Thankfully, washing and drying didn’t change the soft feel or absorbency of the towels. They were just as effective (and soft) post-wash as they were before they went in. After they’d been washed once, there was no more lint shedding. 

Are they worth the price?

The Everplush towels live up to the manufacturer’s claims. They absorb incredibly well, and they’re lightweight. Their blend of microfiber and cotton helps them dry fast. If you live where drying towels is a challenge, these towels are a great choice. They also maintain their look and feel after several washes. My only concern was the snags. With the low pile of the loops, I didn’t expect that.  

Everplush Diamond Jacquard Bath Towels vs. Pottery Barn Aerospin Quick-Dry Organic Sculpted Towels

The Everplush towels fall under the quick-drying category, as do Pottery Barn’s Aerospin towels. Comparing the two, the Everplush weighs 500 gsm (grams per square meter), and the Aerospin is 700 gsm, so the Aerospin towels aren’t going to feel as lightweight as the Everplush. The Aerospin is also 100 percent organic cotton, which means it will absorb well but probably won’t dry as fast as the Everplush, even though the Aerospin is fast drying. The Aerospin’s fibers allow air to pass through the towel more efficiently, but cotton holds water longer than microfiber.  Cotton gives the towel a slightly rougher feel at first. Over time, cotton gets softer with time, so the higher cotton percentage of the Aerospin towel may make the Everplush towel feel softer right out of the package.  The Everplush towels are less expensive than the Pottery Barn towels even though their performance is similar. I would lean towards the Everplush to save a few dollars and enjoy a lighter weight, faster-drying towel.   The Everplush towels offer excellent water absorption, a great drying rate, and a soft, lightweight feel. They’re middle of the road on price, but they keep up with more expensive towels in performance.