When it comes to duvet covers, you’ll likely want to choose one that’s as comfortable and cozy as it is attractive. With so many styles and materials on the market, it might be tough to decide which one is right for you. If you’re a fan of flannel bedding, the L.L.Bean Ultrasoft Comforter Cover is ideal for year-round use. Made in Portugal from 100% double-brushed cotton, L.L.Bean says it’s soft, breathable, and resistant to shrinking, fading, and pilling. To see if it lived up to these claims, I put it to the test by sleeping on it for several weeks.  Right out of the packaging, this flannel duvet cover was incredibly soft. I live in a warmer climate, and temperatures don’t typically drop below the 50s. The cover is lightweight and breathable. I never felt hot or uncomfortable during the night. When the weather gets warmer, I probably won’t need the comforter and its duvet cover. The good thing about this flannel cover is it can stand alone as a heavier-weight sheet.  This duvet cover has some convenient features that I appreciated. It has internal ties in each corner, which attach to the comforter and help hold it in place. It has button closures along the bottom, which are easy to fasten and undo. Once closed, they remain securely attached. The button closures are on the cover’s underside, so they’re hidden when you make up the bed. I reversed the cover during my initial setup, so the buttons were at the top, exposing them when I folded it over. I thought the cover looked nice that way.   There were a few things that I didn’t like about the duvet cover, leaving me to doubt its durability. As the instructions recommended, I washed the duvet cover separately before using it. The manufacturer claims that the cover is pill-resistant, but I noticed some pilling after running it through the washer and dryer. The cover didn’t fade or shrink at all. I dried it using the wrinkle release cycle, and there were still some creases when I removed it from the dryer. I touched it up with a steam iron to give it a cleaner, crisper finish.  Despite having the buttons and internal ties securely fastened, the cover looked rumpled after sleeping with it for a night. It’s expected; cotton flannel material is prone to wrinkles. The down comforter that I’ve paired it with has a pillowy texture, so it’s naturally a bit lumpy rather than completely smooth. The duvet cover doesn’t look bad by any means, but it’s not as neat as I would like it to be.  Another downside: The flannel material picks up a fair amount of lint and other particles. The lint isn’t noticeable from a distance, but I can see it upon closer inspection. To keep the cover clean, I ran a lint brush over it every few days. It doesn’t take much time or effort, but it’s more maintenance than I like. I usually use comforters with patterns on them; it makes me wonder if the lint shows more on solid colors.    

Is this duvet cover worth buying? 

Considering the relatively steep price tag ($85 for a queen), I expected better quality. I loved its soft, velvety texture, but the material had some flaws—it wrinkled easily, collected lint, and pilled in the wash. If you’re partial to flannel or like the look of this particular duvet cover, there’s no harm in trying it out. If you’re not 100% satisfied, you can return it to L.L. Bean within one year of purchase for a full refund. 

What colors are available? 

This comforter cover is available in nine solid colors: bay blue, driftwood, heather gray, mariner blue, natural, mineral green, silver sage, sunlight, and white. I ordered mine in bay blue, which is similar to a cornflower blue. It added a pop of color to my bedroom and blended in nicely with my beach-themed decor. It doesn’t come in any prints or patterns. 

What are the care instructions? 

As per the instructions on the tag, wash the duvet cover separately once before using. It should be machine-washed in warm water and tumble dried on low heat. Use only non-chlorine bleach when needed. You can go over it with a warm iron to remove wrinkles. 

L.L.Bean Ultrasoft Flannel Comforter Cover vs. the Competition 

Brooklinen’s Cotton Duvet Cover comes in more vibrant colors and pattern options if you’re looking for something with more style. Reviewers praise it for being soft, lightweight, and breathable. It also features interior ties and button closures. Lint doesn’t seem to be a problem, but it also wrinkles. Retailing for $99 and up depending on size and color, Brooklinen’s offering isn’t cheap, but the high-quality material seems worth the cost.  The Quince Organic Luxe Waffle Duvet Cover is another solid choice made from 100% soft organic cotton. It retails for $79 to $99, depending on the size. Despite being one of the less expensive duvet covers on the market, reviewers say it’s surprisingly high quality. Like the L.L. Bean duvet cover, it has interior ties and button closures along the bottom. This duvet cover is only available in white and features a waffle pattern that gives it a subtle amount of style.   The L.L.Bean Ultrasoft Comforter Cover has its pros and cons: The cotton flannel is exceptionally soft and breathable, but it also tends to wrinkle, pill, and attract lint. I prefer a duvet cover made from a different material—one that’s more durable and requires less maintenance.