A humidifier can add some much-needed moisture to a dry room. It can also help to relieve dry skin, allergies, and other respiratory problems. You don’t have to spend a lot of money to reap the benefits of better air quality. The Magictec Cool Mist Humidifier is an affordably priced unit that offers portability and functionality. Although it lacks the advanced technology that you’ll find on more expensive models, this humidifier has some standout features, including a 24-hour runtime and a 360-degree mist angle. I tested the Magictec in my home for several weeks to see how well it performed, assessing ease of use and cleaning requirements as well as overall effectiveness to determine if this humidifier is worth buying.  The Magictec Cool Mist Humidifier couldn’t be easier to set up. Remove the packaging, add water, and plug it into an outlet. The water tank, which takes up the bulk of the unit, is lightweight and lifts out easily. Since I have hard tap water, I erred on the safe side and used filtered water to fill the humidifier. To fill the tank, it needs to be turned upside down. The tank can sit flat in the sink for easier, hands-off filling. The tank opening is generous; you can easily fill it without any spills or messes.  At about 2 pounds, the Magictec Cool Mist Humidifier is incredibly lightweight and easy to move from room to room. Measuring 11.57 x 7.99 x 7.76 inches, it’s small enough to fit on most tables. The Magictec isn’t the most attractive option on the market, but its simple design is unobtrusive. This humidifier is only available in black. I would have preferred some other color options, like white or silver, to blend in better with my décor. The black doesn’t look bad; I can live with it.  I couldn’t tell from the instructions or packaging what this model’s ideal coverage area was, so I placed it in different locations until I determined where it worked best. When I ran the humidifier in my large, open concept living area, there wasn’t much improvement in the air quality. The effects were much more noticeable in my 12 x 14-foot bedroom. I kept the humidifier running overnight, which is usually when my allergy symptoms are at their worst. Upon waking most mornings, my sinuses were not as dry or irritated. The moist air relieved my chapped lips, too. Even after running it for hours on a higher setting, I didn’t find any condensation on the surface of my furniture, phone, or books that I accidentally left sitting next to the humidifier. Compared to higher-tech, costlier options, the controls and features on this humidifier seem a bit rudimentary. An adjustable dial controls the mist output with settings from low to high. A 360-degree nozzle allows you to angle the cool mist output and disperse it in different directions. However, you have to turn the spray cover manually; the mist doesn’t revolve independently. The machine has one indicator light that changes color to reflect the operating status. A white light indicates the machine is in use. A red light indicates the tank is running low on water. When it’s low, the machine goes into standby mode. Once the humidifier runs out of water entirely, it shuts off automatically—a safety feature I appreciate. The budget-friendly Magictec is very easy to operate. It lacks a digital display, humidity gauge, or the ability to detect when the room has reached an optimal humidity level. With the Magictec humidifier, it’s all guesswork. I did not doubt that the machine was doing its job, however—it emits a visible stream of cool mist continuously, and I could see the amount of mist increased when I turned up the dial.

How is the noise level? 

Operating at less than 30 decibels, this humidifier is relatively quiet, but it’s not entirely silent. I could hear water trickling inside the unit and the whoosh of the mist. It is a bit louder than other humidifiers that I’ve used in the past, including some that are much larger. However, the noise didn’t bother me. I could read, watch TV, and sleep without being disturbed. The sound is comparable to a fan on a low setting. The humidifier was more effective if I kept it nearby—usually on my bedside table. If I placed it farther away, I probably wouldn’t hear it at all. 

What size space is it suitable for? 

I wasn’t able to determine Magictec’s recommended coverage area. Based on my experience, it seems to work best in smaller or medium-sized rooms, approximately 400 square feet or less. 

How long can the humidifier run for? 

Considering its compact size, it has a surprisingly spacious 2.5-liter water tank. Its long runtime is very convenient, and it’s the most significant selling point. Set on medium, it can run for up to 24 hours. I ran the humidifier continuously overnight several times before I had to refill the tank. Other humidifiers I used, even significantly more expensive models, had to be filled more frequently. 

How do you clean the humidifier? 

I wish the humidifier pieces came apart for easier cleaning. The manufacturer recommends cleaning the water tank at least every two weeks. To clean it, remove the filler cap and wipe off the scale with a soft cloth. The opening is narrow, and the tank is deep—a challenge to clean thoroughly by hand. A narrow bristle brush with a long handle is a suitable cleaning tool for the job (providing it’s not too abrasive). I’ve been rinsing the tank out with hot water and wiping it clean as best I can. You need to clean the inside of the humidifier base once a week.

Are there any design flaws? 

The indicator light, which remains illuminated when the machine is in use, can’t be dimmed or adjusted. The light is pretty bright, especially in a dark bedroom. To solve the problem, you can turn the unit so the light is not facing you.  There is no way to secure the spray cover to prevent it from falling off. When the humidifier is in its upright position, it nests on top of the water tank. However, if you tilt the tank when you lift the humidifier, the cover slides off.  I would have appreciated a digital display or built-in sensor to measure the humidity level in my home accurately (but I do not expect advanced features at this price point). 

Magictec Cool Mist Humidifier vs. the Competition 

If you’re looking for a humidifier with more sophisticated technology, the Levoit LV550HH Hybrid Ultrasonic Humidifier is a solid choice. This unit features a digital panel with five cool or warm mist settings, a built-in humidity sensor, and a programmable timer. It also comes with a remote control for added convenience. Equipped with a built-in aroma tray, the Levoit doubles as a diffuser. This humidifier covers a larger area—up to 750 square feet. With all these advanced features, it’s no surprise that the LV550HH retails for $119.99, significantly more than the Magictec humidifier.  Levoit also offers the Smart 4L Cool Mist Humidifier, an ultra-quiet model best suited for bedrooms (or rooms up to 376 square feet). With its one-gallon water tank, it can run for up to 40 hours on the lowest setting or 10 hours on high. To maintain whisper-quiet operation at 25 decibels, it uses a DC hydraulic fan and a patented silencer. This model has some unique features that give it an edge over Magictec’s offering, including smart capabilities, an auto-dimming display, and a separate diffuser tray. Retailing for $58, it is reasonably priced amongst the competition.  The Magictec Cool Mist Humidifier is a no-frills, functional machine that works best in smaller rooms. Although it lacks advanced, expensive features, this humidifier is easy to operate and effective. If you’re looking for a basic model that won’t drain your budget, the Magictec is an excellent choice.