Steam mops are far more sophisticated than your traditional mop and buckets. With a wide selection on the market, prices and features vary. The O-Cedar Microfiber Steam Mop is a versatile tool with a unique advantage: It can clean carpets and hard surfaces. Using only water and no chemicals, it kills 99.9% of bacteria on floors. I tested the O-Cedar Steam Mop to see if it could effectively clean and sanitize various floor types throughout my home. Read on to see if this steam mop is worth its high price.  The O-Cedar Microfiber Steam Mop was very easy to assemble. I attached the handle and the mop head to the tank housing—no tools required. The parts simply clicked into place. The mop comes with a 200 milliliter cup, which you fill with water and pour into the tank. You can use tap water or distilled water. If you have hard tap water, distilled water is recommended to prevent deposit buildup. The mop comes with two microfiber cleaning pads, which are easy to attach and remove. Once I plugged it in, the mop started steaming in 20 seconds.  At 5 pounds, the mop is exceptionally lightweight, making it easy to push around. The mop head is 12 inches wide, giving you an adequate cleaning path. Its power cord is about 20 feet long and could clean most rooms without unplugging it and changing outlets. The handle reclines horizontally, so I was able to get under low furniture. Another convenient feature is the mop’s triangular design, which allowed me to access tight corners and other nooks and crannies. In its full upright position, the steam mop can stand on its own for convenient storage. I liked that it didn’t need propping up against furniture during cleaning.  I was very impressed with the steam mop’s cleaning performance. I used it in my primary bathroom, which has white tile floors that tend to show dirt. I wasn’t sure how much steam would come out, so I kept the steam level at a lower setting. The mop produces a visible stream of mist and leaves floors slightly wet, but it’s a minimal amount of water. I found it easier to use and far less messy than a traditional mop and bucket. After one pass with the mop, visible dirt on the floor was gone. Even on sections of the floor that looked clean to the eye, I was surprised to see dirt on the cleaning pad.  I cranked it up to a higher setting to tackle the high-traffic marble tiles in my entryway. It did a great job of removing stubborn dirt and footprints. After using the mop, my floors were noticeably shinier too.

Read more about our Diversity and Inclusion Pledge to make The Spruce a site where all feel welcome. This steam mop has the unique ability to clean rugs and carpets. Most of the large rugs in my home are Persian and Oriental, so I prefer to have those cleaned professionally. I tried the mop on a few of my smaller, inexpensive area rugs. With the snap-on glider attached, the mop moves smoothly over fabric. I noticed a difference when cleaning my lighter colored rugs. After a few passes with the mop, most of the dirt and stains came out. 

What are the care instructions? 

After cleaning, I removed the soiled pad and ran it through the washer and dryer. It came out looking good as new. I was happy that the pad didn’t shrink in the wash. The cleaning pads will withstand up to 25 washes. They will need replacement at some point. The manufacturer offers reasonably priced refills: A pack of two will cost $13.  

Are there any flaws to the design? 

The water tank could use some improvement. There is no water level indicator, so I couldn’t tell how much water was left. The mop holds 0.4 liters of water, which is a generous amount, but I never knew when I was going to run out. I could only tell when the mop stopped producing steam. I have a larger two-story home; I had to refill the reservoir several times while cleaning. 

Is this steam mop worth buying? 

The O-Cedar Steam Mop’s ability to clean carpets gives it a significant advantage over the competition. It’s also effective on many hard sealed surfaces, including, tile, hardwood, vinyl, and laminate. Considering the O-Cedar’s steep price tag, I was surprised it didn’t have more specialized cleaning tools. Other models come with steam brushes, scrapers, and grout tools. The O-Cedar Microfiber Steam Mop is a versatile option for many floor types, but it falls short on features. 

The O-Cedar Microfiber Steam Mop vs. the Competition

If you need a steam mop strictly for hard flooring, the Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop is a suitable choice. Like the O-Cedar mop, it can kill 99.9 percent of bacteria and germs. Although the Bissel steam mop can’t be used on carpet, it offers some bonus features that the O-Cedar lacks, including grout tools, a bristle scrub brush, and a clothing steamer. It also comes with fragrance disks inserted into the mop to give your home a fresh scent. This Bissell mop is a lot more budget-friendly, retailing around $90.  If you’re looking for a multipurpose cleaning tool, the Bissell PowerFresh Lift-Off Pet Steam Mop comes with an arsenal of 13 attachments. From a window squeegee to a garment steamer, the Bissell Steamer allows you to steam clean throughout the house. Its 2-in-1 design allows it to convert to a handheld steam cleaner. Its design makes it effective on many floor types, including hardwood, marble, granite, ceramic, and linoleum. The Bissell PowerFresh Pet Lift-Off Steam Mop retails for $129, but its multi-functionality justifies its price tag.  The O-Cedar Microfiber Steam Mop is one of the most expensive steam mops on the market. However, it has a distinct advantage over the competition: It can clean carpets and all hard surfaces. It made my floors super clean and shiny. I only wish it had more tools and accessories.