We spoke with several plant influencers and collectors to find out what plants they can’t wait to get their hands on. And since I’m a collector with more than 70 plants and counting, I also include my picks. Here are the 16 trendy plants we can’t wait to add to our collections. She knew so much about it that you could tell that she really wanted it. “They love filtered, bright light and can dry out slightly between waterings. You might notice some slight warping of the leaves if they’re too thirsty!” This plant is pretty hard to come by. “If I had to get one, I’d have to get it online as they can’t even be found locally in Malta…and online they’re quite expensive, so I’ve really been on the fence as to whether I should go for it or now…I’m sure one day I’ll cave in because I drool whenever I see one.” Her next two both fell in the Philodendron family. The Philodendron Verrucosum is “classy and alien-like," she said, adding “the veins on leaves emerge in a glowing neon green and provide a stunning contrast for the rich forest green of the velvet leaves. Talk about out of this world! The fuzzy petioles are the icing on the cake.” And lastly, the Philodendron White Princess which she thinks is a lot prettier than the pink princess. “The hot pink on some of these leaves is unbelievable! And the pure white variegation looks even brighter than an Albo Monstera!” She is lusting after the Philodendron Strawberry Shake which she says “gives a beautiful quadricolor variegation that is not often found in plants, with hues of orange, pink, yellow and green.” She also was close to getting her next wishlist plant, the Philodendron Paraiso Verde. “I was actually supposed to get one last week, but the deal failed as the plant didn’t survive the importation. It is a very rare plant. It has a mottled variegation, with different shades of lighter green and creamy white, and a few darker spots here and there.” With her last wishlist plant, the Aglaonema Pictum Tricolor, she highlights an issue collectors are increasingly aware of. “While this plant is high on my wish list, I am also concerned with ethical sourcing, which seems to be a problem with this particular plant. It has a beautiful tricolor variegation, showing a lovely camouflage pattern that is all shades of army green. This plant is known for being a little bit fussy, despite being in the aglaonemas family. I am patient and won’t get just any that comes my way before asking specific questions.” “Its large, round, veiny, textured, dark green leaves are just so gorgeous and dreamy," she said. “Unfortunately, I rarely see them offered here in the US, and when they are, they often come with quite the hefty price tag (especially with the rising popularity of plants/hoyas). Hopefully I can’t get my hands on one soon!” “The look of it reminds me of the holiday season and can bring so much life to any room.” It’s not the easiest plant, but she knows that. “Although it can be trickier to care for, I think having a bit of a high-maintenance plant can encourage more effort for plant and self-care, and who doesn’t need a little more patience and self-care?“ My other wishlist plant is a “boob cactus.” Its Latin name is Myrtillocactus geometrizans Fukurokuryuzinboku (try saying that even one time). It’s a quirky little cactus that looks like, you guessed it, breasts. It’s a super unique plant and while I’ve been able to locate them in the UK, they are not cheap, which is why it remains on my wishlist.