As a mother of curious children (and a playful puppy) who seem to get into everything, I try to avoid cleaning products with toxic chemicals. When it comes to pests, I am very enthusiastic about using natural products as well. However, I also want the critters gone, so I’m open to the stronger stuff when needed.  Thus, when a newly discovered moth invasion dovetailed with the opportunity to test moth-repelling products, I said, “Sign me up!” In this review, I try out Reefer-Galler SLA Cedar-Scented Spray, which claims to kill clothes moths, eggs, and larvae (and not to mention most other flying and crawling insects, such as carpet beetles, lice, flies, cockroaches, spiders, crickets, ticks, and spiders) on contact. Read on to find out how this product performed against the pesky, flying intruders—and how it fares on the safety scale.

Design and Instructions: Moth murder in a can

The design of this product is straightforward: It’s a 15-ounce aerosol can that should be shaken before use and then sprayed at the infected area from a distance of 12 to 15 inches. An even, “liberal” coating is usually all you need (however, read instructions carefully, as the amount and application distance vary depending on the critter you are battling).  The instructions say this product can be used on everything including closets, empty drawers, furniture, beds (targeted to only infested areas), rugs, and wool fabrics (but not on clothing). The can also says the product is “nonstaining,” but the fine print does suggest spot testing at farther distances to ensure nothing is stained prior to use. Wherever you use this product, be sure that you have proper ventilation and take precautions (more on that in the “Safety” section).

Performance: Kills moths and flies on contact

To put it simply, this product works. The instructions recommend spraying items weekly until the problem abates. However, in my case, one thorough application was all I required to successfully eradicate the moths from our affected rug and space. To treat the rug, I took it outside, both for ventilation and because moths and their larvae hate the sun. I sprayed the critters I could see, and they died, proving that this is definitely a powerful insecticide. After another round of vacuuming and hours in the sun, I sprayed again, aiming for an even coating, and then left the rug again for a few more hours of sun and ventilation. I sprayed a little inside, but I didn’t want to do much, as the space has poor ventilation. Instead, I put out moth traps (to determine if any moths were hiding) and cedar blocks to deter moths from returning. Two months later, this space has stayed moth-free. As far as the other pests this product claims to kill, I did coincidentally come upon a disgusting fly and maggot infestation near my (empty) compost bin, so in the name of science, I sprayed the product on the white, writhing mass. When I came back a half-hour later, nothing was moving. 

Odor: Chemical smell with hint of cedar

Considering the off-putting smell of mothballs, one thing that attracted me to this product was its claim of “no unpleasant odor” and its “cedar” scent. I think these assertions are somewhat misleading, as they gave me the false impression that this product was somehow more “natural” than other chemical insecticides.  I knew this was untrue after my first sniff of this product. While the smell isn’t terrible, it is strong. I will say that it’s an improvement from old-school chemical assault products, and the cedar mask does make it a bit more tolerable. Still, you aren’t supposed to breathe it in, so I avoided smelling it as much as possible. The cedar scent is there, but it is still a strong, chemically smell that means business and is certainly not pleasant.

Safety: Caution required

The only downside to this product’s toxicity to insects is that it makes me wary of even holding the can. Its three active ingredients are the pyrethrins, permethrin, and piperonyl butoxide, all of which are chemicals and possible carcinogens. Serious care must be taken to avoid inhaling the spray, and children should never handle this product. Wear a mask, maximize ventilation, and wash your hands and any other skin that makes contact thoroughly after use. Keep pets and children away, and don’t spray eating areas, bedding, or clothing. Apparently, it’s lethal to aquatic creatures and dangerous for cats and puppies as well. In other words, this product is no joke, and it needs to be used with caution. The instructions do permit use on dogs over 12 weeks old for the purpose of flea treatment. I was taken aback by the idea of putting this product on an animal, particularly as it would be nearly impossible to apply without it the pet breathing it in or licking it, not to mention the probability of it soaking into his or her skin. I wouldn’t want to subject my dog to something that I’m advised to avoid contact with. 

Price: Reasonable 

The Reefer-Galler SLA Cedar-Scented Spray retails for about $14. This is a reasonable price compared with other moth- and insect-fighting products, although some other chemical sprays cost less. However, the can sprays evenly and contains a lot of product that works effectively. I was surprised that even after spraying a very large rug, my can still feels full. Plus, while the odor of this product is not great, it is more tolerable than many others.

Reefer-Galler SLA Cedar Scented Spray vs. Spectracide Bug Stop

Both of these products work in the same way, killing the same host of pests with toxic chemicals. The Sprectracide spray is significantly cheaper at around $6 a can and contains one more ounce of product. However, despite the higher price, I give the win to the Reefer-Galler SLA Cedar-Scented Spray, as it has a less potent odor and superior spraying ability. I would suggest trying other methods before resorting to this product. However, if all else fails, Reefer-Galler SLA Cedar-Scented Spray works well to eradicate just about any bug problem a human can face (just be sure to follow all precautions and instructions carefully).