For as long as I can remember, my partner has had “house shoes,” otherwise known to us less fancy folk as slippers. Years ago when we met, it was a beautiful pair of leather sandals. When we moved to New York City, it was a simple pair of open-back slippers from Muji. For the past couple of weeks, it’s been the Tamarac by Slippers International Cody Sheepskin Slippers.  Among many other things, he’s very particular about his slippers. There are some things he really liked about the Cody slippers and some things he could have done without. Ahead, I’ll break down all of the pros and cons he shared with me as he was testing out these top-rated indoor/outdoor slippers. 

Materials: Suede, shearling, and rubber

The first thing we noticed about these slippers is how sturdy the rubber sole is. You can wear them outside without any care in the world. While I would not recommend spending a snowy afternoon in these slippers—and neither would my partner—a quick jaunt in the outdoors won’t do any harm.  The suede upper and lamb fur lining is soft, as you would expect, but it also feels heavy-duty. My partner did mention one unfortunate thing: The shearling along the inside of the slipper is prone to shedding. It wasn’t a lot, but there were a few tufts that came out of the shoe as the months wore on.  Also: “I worry about how the fur lining might smell after tons of wear,” my partner told me after staring at his feet for a really, really long time. But he’s now worn them occasionally for a few months, and I’m happy to report there is still no smell.

Design: Simple and understated

These don’t quite look like moccasins, and they don’t quite look like loafers, either. We found this refreshing, as all slippers start to look alike when you’ve been digging through all of the options. The color options are understated and neutral: allspice, black, navy, rootbeer, charcoal grey, birch, and driftwood. These are the kind of slippers you wear inside a cabin in the middle of the woods.   There are suede tabs at the ankles of the shoes that make them easier to pull on. My partner noted that they aren’t made of the strongest material, so he took care when using them for leverage. Added elastic bits on each side of the slippers were also helpful as he pulled them on and off.  All of this being said, my partner didn’t love the look of these slippers. “They’re just kind of chunky,” he said. While I can see that, style is so personal, and I thought they looked pretty spiffy once on. These are called out as men’s slippers, but the style itself is pretty unisex. Despite being too big for me, I tried them on and actually preferred the aesthetic to a more vibrant or colorful option. Ladies, be empowered to buy a smaller size and rock these slippers. 

Fit: Roomy throughout the entire slipper

My partner generally wears a size 8.5 shoe, so he sized up to a 9 for this slipper. There is no tightening toward the toes, which is something I’ve found is common in closed-toe shoes. In fact, the shoe is roomy throughout, providing ample wiggle room.   My partner mentioned that these slippers became a bit roomier toward the end of the week as the fur became more matted. Given the extra space, he also said his heel had a tendency to slip out of the shoe as he walked. 

Performance: Solid sole with a noisy step

When he wore these slippers, I could hear my partner coming down the hall much more easily than I can when he’s wearing other shoes. The substantial sole is heavy on hardwood floors. “I would not want to live underneath a neighbor who has these slippers,” he said.  Despite forcing a heavy step, the rubber soles are grippy. When I asked my partner to do a little “twist and shout” test (the prompt: “grind your feet into the ground and see if you feel like you’re going to fall”), he stayed firmly planted. And it was really funny to watch. 

Price: Good value for a sturdy slipper

There is a very wide price range (from $24 to $82) for these slippers, depending on your size and color option. Obviously, on the higher end, these slippers are quite pricier. You can surely get less expensive slippers, but you won’t find as sturdy of a rubber sole. Going more expensive may get you higher-quality materials, but you won’t get too much warmer as you go up in price. When I asked my partner if he would pay $53 (the median) for another pair of these slippers, he said: “Yes; I think so.” They look really great on him, so I’ll move that to a strong affirmative.

Competition: You’re getting what you pay for and then some

You can find slippers that are just as soft (and ones that won’t shed) like the fleece memory foam slippers from UltraIdeas, but you’re opting for an open-back slipper that skimps on the warmth. The Ansley moccasins from UGG are similar in style, but they do skew more moccasin in aesthetic. They will also cost you double at $100, the only real difference being a tighter fit and higher quality of materials. The Tamarac by Slippers International option is a good deal. These slippers are warm, soft, sturdy, and they won’t fall apart on you right away. Will they last as long as you do on this Earth? Probably not, but you’ll likely want to try a different style of slipper by the time that moment comes anyway. If I wanted slippers to keep my feet warm in the wintertime, I would recommend these,” our tester said of the Tamarac by Slippers International Cody Sheepskin Slippers. The fur lining makes them a favorite for winter, but they may not be the ideal house shoes for summertime.