Percale sheets are crisp, cool, and more durable than other weaves like sateen or flannel. I live in a warm climate, and I’m always on the lookout for quality sheets that are lightweight and breathable. Nestwell’s Washed Cotton Percale Sheet Set is available exclusively at Bed Bath & Beyond. Described as “perfect for warmer sleepers,” I was eager to snag myself a set and try them out. Read on to see if these sheets were any match for Florida’s heat and humidity.  The Nestwell Washed Cotton Percale Sheet Set arrived neatly packaged in a reusable cotton bag. This was my first experience with percale sheets, and I wasn’t sure what to expect. According to the manufacturer, the sheets are prewashed for extra softness, but I wouldn’t use those words to describe them. These sheets are not overly soft or snuggly by any means; they have a slightly starched, crisp feel. I’ve always been partial to softer weaves like jersey and microfiber, so I was skeptical about the comfort level. However, once I settled into bed, I found that I liked the texture. The sheets are refreshingly cool, comfortable, and lightweight.  These sheets have a 180 thread count, which sounds incredibly low. As a general rule of thumb, sheets with a higher thread count are usually softer, but these numbers can be misleading. Case and point with the Nestwell set. The lower thread didn’t mean they were uncomfortable. Quite the opposite, the smooth texture and excellent temperature control made for a good night’s sleep. I live in South Florida, which has a hot climate. Temperatures are generally in the 80s. Because the sheets are so breathable, the sheets kept me comfortably cool throughout the night.  The queen-size set comes with a fitted sheet, a flat sheet, and two pillowcases. Since the sheets fit mattresses up to 17-inches deep, I had plenty of room to spare on my 12-inch mattress. After I tucked the extra material under the mattress, the bed looked very neat. I never experienced any slippage or bunching. The fitted sheet has two convenient features to help you make the bed: The elasticized corners ensure a snug fit and hold it securely in place, and there’s a label to indicate which side of the sheet goes on the top or bottom of the bed, eliminating any guesswork.  The only downside to the sheets is that they wrinkle very easily. I put them in the dryer on a wrinkle release cycle and removed them as soon as they were done. Despite my efforts, the sheets still had plenty of creases. I even went over them with a warm iron, but only some of the wrinkles came out. I don’t mind the rumpled look. When I make the bed, the sheets are concealed under my bedspread and pillows anyway. The sheets pick up some lint, but not enough to be bothersome. In between washes, I ran a lint brush over them every few days. Note that my sheets are white, a color that’s not that forgiving when showing dirt and other particles. 

What colors do they come in? 

Nestwell offers a fairly basic color selection. The sheets are available in four muted colors, including birch, blue fog, lunar rock, and white.  

What sizes are available? 

The Nestwell Washed Cotton Percale Sheet Set comes in six sizes: twin, twin xl, full, queen, king, and California king. 

What are the care instructions? 

The manufacturer recommends machine-washing the sheets in warm water and tumble dry on low. 

Are the sheets durable? 

Percale is a plain weave that’s known for its durability. These sheets are true to form—they held up well to everyday use. After several runs through the washer and dryer, I didn’t encounter any shrinking, fading, or pilling.  

Are these sheets worth buying? 

If you’re looking for cooling sheets with a crisp feel, I think the Nestwell Washed Cotton Percale Sheet Set will serve you well. Compared with other percale options, this set is affordably priced (the queen set retails for $50). Softer, more luxurious percale sheets are available at much higher price points. The downside of percale, and cotton in general, is that it’s prone to wrinkles. If you’re a neat freak about your bedding, you should probably opt for a wrinkle-resistant fabric. 

Nestwell Washed Cotton Percale Sheet Set vs. the Competition 

If you’re looking for a softer, more luxurious option, the Brooklinen Luxe Core Sheet Set is a worthy investment. Retailing from $109 to $195 depending on size, the Brooklinen set is much pricier than Nestwell’s offering. However, the hefty price reflects the hotel-quality comfort and lifetime guarantee. These sheets are made from 100 percent long-staple cotton, making them softer and more substantial than less expensive options. You can choose from a variety of colors and patterns. The L.L. Bean 280-Thread-Count Pima Cotton Percale Sheet Set is another solid—albeit expensive option. This set is 100 percent Pima cotton, a luxurious long-staple cotton fabric. It’s no surprise that a queen set sells for $149, triple the price of the Nestwell set. Made from 100 percent long-staple cotton, they’re highly praised for their softness, breathability, and durability. These sheets come in nine solid colors and five sizes, ranging from twin to California king.   The Nestwell Washed Cotton Percale Sheet Set isn’t luxurious or top of the line, but they are lightweight, pleasantly crisp, and comfortable. They’re an excellent choice for summer use and warmer climates because they stay cool throughout the night. These sheets wrinkle very easily, which may be a deterrent for some.