Taking a shower is such a routine that many don’t think about making it more luxurious or relaxing. I tend to wash up and get back to my day as quickly and efficiently as possible. When I tried the Waterpik 6-Spray Twin Turbo PowerPulse Massage Handheld Showerhead, I immediately relaxed more in the shower and felt refreshed. I replaced a standard showerhead with the Waterpik 6-Spray Twin Turbo Handheld Showerhead. Installing the Waterpik showerhead was as simple as screwing it on, checking for leaks, and starting the shower. Based on how easy it was to install and the improved quality of my shower, I wish I had bought a Waterpik 6-Spray Showerhead years ago. The showerhead comes with the handheld unit, a five-foot-long hose, and the mounting bracket. Once you disconnect your previous showerhead, you tighten the mounting bracket base to the pipe coming from the wall (J-pipe). I did this by hand and didn’t have any leaks. Then, attach the hose to the mounting bracket base to direct the water flow through the hose. The handheld unit attaches to the end of the hose and hangs in the cradle of the mounting bracket when not being held. The installation instructions include a picture diagram, making installation a breeze. The showerhead costs $39.99, which is average for a handheld showerhead with multiple settings. Considering I take one, sometimes two, showers per day, I get a lot of use out of this item. This luxury item was well worth the cost. I would have preferred a brushed nickel finish to match the other fixtures in my bathroom. My 6-foot, 3-inch husband remarked that he liked how adjustable the showerhead is and can angle it up to accommodate his height. He often has to crouch down, especially with our previous standard showerhead. The Waterpik showerhead can be angled up, down, and side-to-side. I liked that each of us could angle the showerhead to our preferences. The sprayer head includes an outer ring and four massaging groupings of nozzles in the center. The six spray settings offer various combinations of water spray. I used the spray selector lever, just below the outer ring, and moved it from left to right to change the settings. I tend to use the standard outer ring spray setting most of the time but will opt to add one of the massaging jets when I want increased pressure for sore muscles. There are two Twin Turbo massaging jets that hit around the shoulders and have a stronger flow. The water pressure on the massage setting was great after a tough workout, but more than I would typically use in my shower. It was easy to adjust back to an all-around spray setting using the spray selector. The showerhead is 3.5 inches in diameter, which offered plenty of coverage for when I took a shower and when my husband took a shower. I used two hands and some muscle to remove the handheld unit from the cradle. I’m 5-foot, 6-inches, so I could do this pretty easily. But, you may find it difficult to reach up with enough force to remove the handheld unit if you are shorter.

How long is the hose?

The hose is five feet long. This was plenty of length for use as a handheld sprayer in a standard-sized shower. If you have a giant shower or plan to use your showerhead to wash children laying in a bathtub or squirming dogs, you may find that you are stretching the hose to its full length to reach them. In most cases, a five-foot-long hose is fine. The hose is lightweight and does not lay entirely flat against the wall after installation. So, if you want your shower to look a certain way from the beginning, spend time uncoiling the hose and bending it into a tidier position. After a couple of weeks of use, the hose straightened itself.

Does this showerhead have a trickle setting?

Some Waterpik 6-Spray Twin Turbo PowerPulse Massage Handheld Showerhead models have a pause button to reduce water flow temporarily. This option is excellent for those who want to conserve water without turning off their shower completely. The pause button will not completely stop the water—a safety regulation from the U.S. Department of Energy.

What do I need to mount the showerhead?

You do not need any materials or tools to mount the showerhead. I pulled out my toolkit, thinking that a plumbing-type job would require special tools and know-how, but instead, I needed nothing. 

Waterpik 6-Spray Twin Turbo PowerPulse Massage Handheld Showerhead vs. the Competition

If you are set on finding a brushed nickel option, consider the Moen Magnetix 6-Function Handheld Showerhead. At $69.99 it is a little bit more expensive. Still, it has a slightly larger showerhead diameter (5.5 inches instead of 3.5 with the Waterpik) and a magnetic docking mechanism to keep the showerhead in place. Waterpik offers the PowerSpray Handheld Showerhead for a less expensive option, which also has six settings, a five-foot hose, and a chrome finish. It includes the Twin Turbo massage feature and has higher power jets to relieve sore muscles. At $29.99, it consists of all of the features you want at a lower price.  The Waterpik 6-Spray Twin Turbo PowerPulse Massage Handheld Showerhead is an affordable upgrade to your daily shower that offers plenty of settings and flexible options for everyone.